*** Ragging is an offence under A.P. Prohibition of Ragging Act 1997, punishable by six months to seven years imprisonment. Abettors will also face similar punishment..***

Welcome to the Department of Physics


The Department of Physics was established as one of the core departments of the College at its inception in 1951, offering courses in undergraduate Physics. In 1991 its activities were upgraded to include teaching at the post graduate level with the introduction of the M.Sc. course in Physics.


Physics is offered at the B.Sc. level in the combination of MPC, MPS, MPG and Electronics in MPE. The student intake at the B.Sc. level is about 220. The student intake in M.Sc. is 30. Computational Physics is currently taught as a special subject in the final year of the M.Sc. course.


The department has well equipped laboratories both at U.G. and P.G. levels and has a team of well-trained and experienced teaching and support staff. The research interests of the department include magnetic resonance spectroscopy, magnetic materials, superionics, ferro-electric materials, x-ray studies, luminescence, solid electrolytes, solar cells etc.


The Department of Science and Technology, Government of India has sanctioned a five year grant of Rs.16.00 lakhs under the FIST programme to the department to strengthen infrastructure. This programme is now in its third year.





Incharge Head





Faculty Profile
Name of the Teacher
Research interests/Specialization
1 Prof.J.Laxman Naik
2 Dr.K.Sadhana (Incharge Head )
Assistant Professor Functional Material
3 Dr.B.Ramaiah   Assistant Professor Ad-Hoc
4 Dr.
Assistant Professor ( C ) -
5 Mr.
Assistant Professor ( C )  
6 Dr.P.Naresh
Assistant Professor ( C ) - Glass materials and Polymers.

View Profile


7 Mrs.
Assistant Professor ( C )  

  • Follows us our servcies